e.dealy

At 3:53 on a Friday afternoon, work for me is over. Well not really. I’m supposed to be here till 5. Not like I have a 9-5 job as it is more like a no later than 8 no earlier than 5 type of job. As you might have guessed, there is practically no statute of limitation. Statute of limitation – that’s my new favorite phrase; odd right? I have had some odd fave phrases like, lets come to an agreement; I will circle back with you; leverage off of that initiative; I was in correspondence with the business unit; lets come to a tactical and strategic solution – mind you, strategic and tactical mean the same thing. Who says American white collar folks don’t like grammar? Sometimes I seize to understand why people choose to say “I am in agreement with that comment” as opposed to just saying, “I agree with you”. This would make life a lot simpler. No complaints though, these are the little things that make work amusing.  

The other day I was having a one-on-one with my oga, when I spaced out. Honestly this happens so frequently that I don’t bother trying to pay attention. Truth is I enjoy spacing out than sitting down on some expensive (but uncomfortable) chair trying to explain something to oga-sir for the nth time. On this particular occasion I was sitting behind him staring at his bald head when it happened. Next thing I knew I had a strand of my hair in my hand and I was wondering if my oga ever considered hair transplant surgery; even more bizarre I was wondering if I could be a donor. I’m not sure where that came from. I guess the mind always finds a way to please itself when in boring and uncomfortable situations. Maybe just the same way other parts of the body adjust to a lack…for example, when one looses his/her sight, other senses are heightened. It’s probably not the best example but hopefully you get my point.  

I saw Osama Bin Laden’s son in AMNY today. He looks so much like his father “except for the dreadlocks that dangle halfway down his back. Then there’s the black leather biker jacket.” His name is Omar, 26 and married to a 52 year old Brit. Apparently, Omar wants to an ambassador for peace and is planning a 3,000 mile horse race across North Africa. I guess this is something close in line with the various walks and matches for justice – only difference is the horses. I hope the intentions are well and good and no more violence would arise as a result. This world is huge yet so fickle and the slightest things can cause an up roar.

FYI – Famine Analysts project a shortage of food in western africa as crops harvest (millet, corn etc)will not be enough to accomodate demands. Traders have started hoarding these foods so they can sell at high prices later on. Analysts project that this may lead to starvation to those that can’t afford the high price of food.

Leave a Reply

