fat mardi

You know when you do things just because and then find a reason for the action only afterwards…because people always want you to have a rationale behind every action? Do you know what I’m talking about? “There must be a reason why he/she did it”, “There has to be an answer”…and so on and so forth. That pisses me off men. Just thought I should put that out there…no reason in particular why I chose to do so now.  

J 

Good morning. It is Tuesday morning; also known as fat Tuesday or Carnival or Mardi gras; the Tuesday before Ash Wednesday. For those who don’t know, Ash Wednesday is pretty much the beginning of the Lenten season. I started a tradition with a friend at work – go to mass and then go to Heartlands to have nachos and maybe a beer. This year I want to observe it a bit differently – go to mass, then go Heartlands to have nachos and maybe a beer, and reflect. Reflect on me, my actions and my future but moreover be grateful for who I am, what I have become and where I am headed. I feel like lent started early because of me…because I made a huge mess of myself I have to put things back in order the way they ought to be.

I pray that God’s goodness rest on each of us as we start on our individual Lenten journey. Amen.

Leave a Reply

