feliz cumpleanos

I had cold feet as I took frigid steps to work on the first day of my 22nd year on earth. I literally had cold feet…didn’t have tights or socks on. I was fooled by the weather forecast. I heard that it was 45 and was going to progress to the 60s later in the day. It was actually in the 30s when I stepped out. On the train, my eyes didn’t wander, I was glued to my book, the Zahir, and I was plugged in to my sansa by that invention we call ear phones. I wasn’t happy or sad, I was…simply was on the first day on my 22nd year on earth. I had gone to bed pretty early, I didn’t sleep well so I woke up at 11:36pm on the 2nd day of the 3rd month of some year after the death of Christ. I was hungry, or maybe I just needed to munch on something, so I went to the kitchen and got me a pear – not avocado. I stayed up to witness the vigil on the eve of my cumpleanos…I resolved not to be imprisoned anymore by the numerous numerous things…I resolved to live… as I stared at my phone and counted down to 12:00 midnight, the day that marked the first day of my 22nd year on earth. “Happy Birthday”, I said to myself and smiled.

One Response to feliz cumpleanos

  1. lady j says:

    my dear happy birthday. god bless

Leave a Reply

